The Eddies – Gonna Sing About This

A trio from Southern California, the Eddies include twin brothers, Dean and Dale, who share lead vocals and play bass and guitar respectively, while Len Curiel is the drummer.

For the past several years, the band has been thrilling folks throughout the world with their smashing sounds, and here on their latest venture, a three-track disc called Gonna Sing About This (Twist Records), they maintain the high standard of songwriting and musicianship they’re consistently associated with.

Wiggly, wobbly and simply wonderful, the title track of the record emits a cool and casual psychedelic feel throbbing with electronic rhythms. Coated with disembodied distortion, “Gonna Sing About This” further pitches a sharp and surprising break, complemented by a bank of breezy choruses. Innovative and intriguing, the catchy tune certainly bears all the markings of a hit single.

Navigated by a turbulent beat and clawing hooks, “Why Doesn’t Anybody Call Me” mines classic power pop territory with honesty and confidence. The guitar chords cycle around and around, the harmonies are cut of a hardy stock, and the meaty and mighty drum work is absolutely phenomenal.

Rigged with ringing licks and a soft and fuzzy exterior, “You Make Everything” reflects aspects of both the Byrds and Shoes. A real nice melody also drives the song, giving it a surefire radio-friendly touch.

The Eddies are truly one of the greatest bands making the scene, and Gonna Sing About This proves they continue to soldier on in the right direction. Groovy and gutsy, the record is a must have for fans of crafty pop rock.

- Beverly Paterson, SomethingElseReviews.com, March 2013

The Eddies - Gonna Sing About This
Great new EP for 2013. 3 great new power pop tunes that sound like a mix of Byrds, Shambles, Kinks, The Knack, and host of other fine power pop inspirations...but truly ..THE EDDIES have a sound that is all their own and that's a really good thing. GREAT and highly recommended.

-Jam Records, March 2013



One Track Mind: The Eddies, “Jungle Beat/ Don’t Know Where To Start” (2012)

I tell you, they just don’t make singles like this anymore!

Streaked with slinky surf and spy rhythms, compounded by a forceful garage rock finish, “Jungle Beat” bubbles over with the kind of exuberance rock and roll music was originally built on, while “Don’t Know Where To Start” wiggles and jiggles with fuzzy distortion and plucky hooks buzzing with intensity.

Dean Hoth, lead singer and bassist of the Eddies, shares lead vocals with Bart Mendoza from the Shambles on “Jungle Beat” and on “Don’t Know Where To Start,” Mark Le Gallez of the Risk joins Dean on lead vocals. Talk about a trio of talent!

Hopefully, the Eddies will soon be releasing an album. But until that happens, give a listen to these two snapping, crackling and popping tunes, which promise to garner endless spins on CD players throughout the world!

-Beverly Paterson, February 2012 - somethingelsereviews.com

IT'S CHRISTMAS TIME AGAIN! And that's the name of the new song by the Eddies! Here's a peppy little tune that goes round and round to a power popping mod beat, laced with a wash of distorted guitars and grabbing hooks galore. Nice harmonies too, complemented by the twirling action of a harpsichord!

-Beverly Paterson, December 2011

I Want You And I Want You/Stranger In The House (Twist Records)
Purveyors of power popping mod sounds, The Eddies have once again turned in a first rate recording.

A new Eddies album is due to arrive shortly, but until that happens, here’s a great single by the highly acclaimed Southern California band to keep our fingers snapping and toes tapping. Trimmed with ringing guitars, a touch of phased effects and performed at a mid-paced clip, “I Want You and I Want You” sits tall on the shelf as a catchy slice of pop magic, while “Stranger in the House” is carved of merry choruses, clingy melodies and choppy ska rhythms. Purveyors of power popping mod sounds, The Eddies have once again turned in a first rate recording.

(By Beverly Paterson – TLM Chief Staff Writer) www.lancerecords.com May 2010

I Want You And I Want You/Stranger In The House (April 2010)
UK/2010/Twist Records    EXCELLENT!!!

These West Coast-based Mod-sters return from a long hiatus by releasing a new, LIMITED EDITION single. This Earle Mankey-produced effort features a new original titled "I Want You And I Want You" along a new recording of "Stranger In The House" (written by Rob Griffiths of Aussie pop-punkers Little Murders). In fact, Rob even provides vocal assistance on the track! "They provide one heck of a modern-day Mod ride!" - Beverly Paterson "Sunny power-pop psych in the spirit of paisley underground mainstays like the Three O'Clock." - Jason Roth "Comes with an inbuilt feel good factor that anyone whose musical taste embraces power pop, 60's beat, and mod-style guitar grooves will instantly recognize!" - Scootering Magazine

-Kool Kat Records, April 2010

TWIST AND SHAKE REVIEWS by Beverly Paterson (April 2009)
THE EDDIES “Twice Around The World”

Although this record has been out a while now, I’ve only recently had the pleasure of hearing it. I'm already familiar with the band’s previous work, and I must say “Twice Around The World” is definitely their finest effort to date. Featuring first rate covers of Manual Scan’s “Jungle Beat,” Squire’s “Debbie Jones” and The Jetset’s “Colour My World,” lead vocalist and bassist Dean Hoth, along with his rhythm guitar playing sibling Dale, have teamed up with noted producer and engineer Earle Mankey, who also donates his drum skills to the sessions, for one heck of a modern day mod ride. Peppered with a touch of ska inflections, “Stranger In The House” and the smart and sassy “65 Film Show” further plug in as a certified picks to click on the album. Hazy shades of distortion additionally supply the songs with strains of psychedelic flourishes. The hooks are hummable, the harmonies are right on and there’s energy to burn. No doubt “Twice Around The World” sits high on the hill as masterful stroke of mod magnetism.

The Eddies - In The Sunshine And With The Times
The Eddies are a US based Power Pop / Mod trio who consist mainly of brothers Dean and Dale Hoth (along with various drummers) who have released several records (two CD’s and an EP) for the very cool Twist Records, the same label that released the Squire tribute (The Young Idea - A Tribute To Squire) a little while back, which was amazing. They also are or will be featured on a Shambles / Manual Scan tribute, a Jetset tribute, and another special tribute which I mention below.

I first discovered the Eddies on the Koolkat website when I was looking for Jetset CD’s and found their EP “Modern Music For Modern Times” where they do some very cool covers of songs by The Jetset, The Risk and Squire. Later I also found that they contributed to the Neil Diamond tribute “A Little Bit Me, A Little Bit Neil”, where they do a great version of “Sweet Caroline” (bringing back memories of Nick Danger doing a cover of this live). They had also released an album in 2004 - “In The Sunshine” which was their first full length CD which I only managed to get a copy recently. I also got a copy of their latest “Twice Around The World” where they do some more brilliant covers, a highlight obviously being a cover of The Times “Red With Purple Flashes”. The band has agreed to let us use their cover of this song for our upcoming Times / Edward Ball tribute. Many Thanks!

Here is a song that is not exactly what the whole album sounds like but I thought was a beautiful love song - “Every Time” - Enjoy it with your loved one.

- thebeautifulmusic.com - February 2009

The EDDIES - TWICE AROUND THE WORLD
I can't get enough of "Stranger In The House", with its pub-poppy pure glee, sounding like Graham Parker doing early Elvis Costello. It’s been awhile since we’ve heard from The Eddies but the time off is well, well spent as they are return with a collection of songs that is both tightly focused but stylistically diverse. Which makes sense as this is a collection of ---- covers! Cool covers! Featuring twins Dean and Dale Hoth on bass and guitar respectively, and producer and drummer Earle Mankey. The band breathe new life into some 80's powerpop gems, covering songs by The Times, Squire, The Jetset, Manual Scan and The Risk. The band make the songs effortlessly their own. Soaring vocals, great instrumentation, Earle's spot on drumming and full clear production make this a classy and well put together collection of songs.

- www.notlame.com - May 2008

The EDDIES - TWICE AROUND THE WORLD
Brothers Dale and Dean Hoth (Guitar and Bass) along with producer Earl Mankey (Drums) are The Eddies. They put together an album full of bouncy pop songs in the Mod vein. The Eddies have taken a series of 80's hit songs and put their own spin on them. A bit like Dwight Twilley meets The Records, they do a great job on several tracks like "Stranger In The House" and "Don't Know Where To Start." The guitars are strong without being tinny and the brothers Hoth do a good job with the harmonies as well ("Debbie Jones"). The drums/guitar new wave percussive interplay on "Jungle Beat" will take you back to that skinny tie era for sure. I am reminded of similar bands like The Mighty Lemon Drops and Big Country. The liner notes state "No keyboards, no synthesizers, no session musicians" - I haven't seen claims like that since Queen's "Jazz" (the honesty is appreciated, guys). Fans of the band Buddy Love will definitely want to pick this one up.

- Powerpopaholic, March 2008

The EDDIES - TWICE AROUND THE WORLD
Great power pop from CALIFORNIA which gets its inspiration from 20/20, THE THREE O'CLOCK, THE SHAMBLES, and DWIGHT TWILLEY!!! Pick this one up cause its highly recommended!

- Jam Records- February 2008

The EDDIES - TWICE AROUND THE WORLD
US powerpoppers The Eddies return with their second album 'Twice Around The World'. Unlike their debut this album is made up of all cover versions. It's a tricky business putting out albums full of cover versions, sometimes it can go horribly wrong (Weller's 'Studio 150' springs to mind). But I'm happy to say that The Eddies have got these cover versions spot on. Rather than straight forward carbon copies The Eddies have stamped their distinctive powerpop sound onto all the tracks.

The album opens with '65 Film Show' who for those of you that don't know the original was done by Chardon Square and was the opening track on the 'This Is Mod Volume 6 (The U.S. Of Mod)' compilation CD on Anagram Records. Great cover and it sets the standard for the whole of this album. Next up The Eddies pay tribute to two Mod bands from the 80s UK Mod scene with their versions of The Risk's 'Good Together' and The Times 'Red With Purple Flashes' both work really well with The Eddies adding a slight psychedelic feel to their usual power pop sound. Next up is 'Stranger In The House' which is a new one for me as I'd never heard the original before but I'm told that it was by 80's Australian mod band The Little Murders. 'Stranger In The House' is probably the standout track for me on this album along with the following track, a great psych sounding 'Don't Know Where To Start' which was penned by San Diego Modsters Manual Scan. We then get covers of The Jetset's 'Colour My World' which will shortly be released on a Jetset tribute album 'Do You Wanna Be In The Show?', another Risk cover 'Good Times', Squire's 'Debbie Jones' (which was released last year on the Squire tribute album 'The Young Idea) and another Manual Scan cover this time of 'Jungle Beat' (from the Manual Scan/Shambles tribute album?). 'Jungle Beat' brings back a lot of memories for me as this was the first song I ever heard by Maunal Scan when it was issues on the Mod compilation 'The Cutting Edge' back in the mid 80s and I'm glad to say that The Eddies do justice to this tune.

To finish off the album we get 2 bonus tracks - another version of 'Don't Know Where To Start' but this time with The Risk's Mark Le Gallez on lead vocals and 'Stranger In The House' which features Rob Griffiths from The Little murders on vocals. A great end to a great album. One thing I must say abut the album is that Earle Mankey on drums makes a big improvement on the overall sound of The Eddies.

The sleeve notes state that the album was made with - No keyboards, no synthesizers, no session musicians. So if you like good honest power pop with a splash of psychedelic colour then this is the album for you.

-Bazza, Mod Radio UK - February 2008

The Eddies Modern Music For Modern Times
UK/2006/Twist Records


EXCELLENT!!

It's been a while since we've heard from these guys!  Their new 3-song release is aptly titled "Modern Music For Modern Times",
as they pay homage to 80's British Mod classics from Squire ("Debbie Jones"), The Risk ("Good Times") and The Jetset ("Colour My World")!  Brothers Dean and Dale Hoth are joined by the legendary Earle Mankey on drums on a terrific tribute, albeit short, to those fabulous Mod days of yesteryear!

- Kool Kat Records - October 2006

The Eddies - Modern Music For Modern Times (CD EP)

Talk about hitting ya hard and running away, the three songs on this short, exciting and excellent EP really tantalize and tease(hear below).  The Eddies are brothers Dale and Dean Hoth (Guitar and Bass) along with Cris Cordero (Drums) and here they give homage to some early/mid 80's British mod-cum-power pop bands that influenced them.  Co-Produced by Earle Mankey along w/ the band, "Debbie Jones" has a post-mod, late 70's The Vapors/The Jam/The Chords sound with an updated w/ a bit of Ned's Atomic Dustbin/Jesus Jones vibe.  Classic!! "Good Times", Track 2, is even more so!  Again, The Vapors comes to mind, but it rocks a bit harder than that band with a thumping, driving bass line that rips it up.  Track 3?  Well, read below for info on that!

"USA power popsters, The Eddies return to the fray with a three-track release that in the days of vinyl was called a maxi-single.  Debbie Jones is a stomping psyche flavoured gem, a new slant on the Squire(early 80's mod-pop) song.  Wave after wave of guitar leads into a cool update of The Risk's "Good Times, charged up power pop at its best.  The Jetset's "Color My World" get a raveup on Track 3.  A trio of revival tracks brought into the 21st century with class and panache. " -ScooteringMag.   Really wonderful stuff that leaves us wanting more, no doubt!  Listen and enjoy!

-www.notlame.com - October 2006

The Eddies - Modern Music For Modern Times (modradiouk.com)
California never sounded so good!, now we have, The Eddies, a 3 piece Mod Pop Garage band from the sunny beat side of the USA.  What a delight to have a single pop through the letterbox just as you check the band out on the now infamous, Myspace!

The Eddies have been recording since 2004 and this 3 track CD is their latest installment to the world of Mod sounds. Brothers, Dean & Dale Hoth have teamed up with producer Earle Mankey to produce this superb "walk back in time" classic cover collection of Mod Revival tunes.

Squire tune, "Debbie Jones" is first to play on the CD and it`s a great flowing guitar rip of the Meynell classic, next up it`s The Risk`s turn, their top track, "Good Times", simply superb! The Eddies have brought the classic Mod Revival, Le Gallez track, right into the fold of now with neat guitar work and vocals again from the Hoths. The Paul Bevior penned, "Colour My World" is the last track, and it's an absolute cracker! so much so that I like this better than the old Jetset version!

The CD cover quips, "No Keyboards, No Synthesizers, No Session Musicians", and by heck they didn't half prove that! Go and check out the fine sounds of The Eddies now!

I've just read that the guys are back in the studio again recording their next release so if this recording has got anything to go by, it's gonna be the one not to miss!

- Reviewed By Buster

The Eddies - In The Sunshine (modradiouk.com)

Here's a nice summery release that will get all of you up n ready for the sun! It’s a recent release from the Californian Mod trio, The Eddies, called "In The Sunshine" and it's released through Mark Le Gallez`s, Twist Records.

This was their first CD album release in 2004 which sold out very quickly of its original pressing and is now freely available to pick up again and be enjoyed by the masses thankfully! A second album is being put together as you read this but I’ll concentrate on this belter now!

It’s a 12 track CD Release from Twist Records with over 30 minutes of top class guitar Mod Power pop that’s just perfect for lying back on that lounger and turning up the volume while soaking in the sun! There are 11 self penned tracks by Dean Hoth and 1 track penned by US Mod stalwart, Bart Mendoza which adds nicely to the summer fun!

"All Alone", imagine Squire with fuzz guitars!, "Sometime", terrific harmonies reminds me of the Buzzcocks, that’s no bad thing either!, "In Tears Again", definite soul side to Dale Hoth's vocals, ""Life Could Be So Good", them Hoth brothers sure know how to harmonize!, "Thinking Of This Girl", a pure and simple power popper, "Queen Of Hearts", showing their Punk & early Weller influences well, top track, "So In Love", slows the pace down some with Dale Hoth's vocals a delight for the ears, "Girl With The Golden Hair", Modtastic harmony with Dean Hoth on lead vocals, "Find My Way Back Home", pure Fuzz pop flowing into the atmospheric "What is Love”,” Jungle Beat", fantastic cover of the Bart Mendoza & Manual Scan classic, my pick of the bunch! "Every Time", the last track flows all gently along, reminds me of the Beach Boys but that just adds to the summer feel of this whole album!

Be warned! This album will blow your mind! Utterly cool but oh so infectious, you’ll be playing this CD over & over till the neighbours start complaining!

Described by Andy Houghton of Yeh Yeh, as the "Dog’s Bollocks", "The sound is quite 'heavy' and really goes well with the 'fragile' voice and harmonies", says, Anthony Meynell of Squire, "Mods will definitely dig it!", says Kool Kat Musik......Indeed we do!

With a new single release imminent and a forthcoming second album, I for one can't wait for both, The Eddies have well established themselves in the Mod beat world and long may they continue! This CD and other releases available from the links above and all the good outlets of cool.

- Reviewed By Buster

The Eddies - Modern Music For Modern Times (CD EP)

Talk about hitting ya hard and running away, the three songs on this short, exciting and excellent EP really tantalize and tease(hear below).  The Eddies are brothers Dale and Dean Hoth (Guitar and Bass) along with Cris Cordero (Drums) and here they give homage to some early/mid 80's British mod-cum-power pop bands that influenced them.  Co-Produced by Earle Mankey along w/ the band, "Debbie Jones" has a post-mod, late 70's The Vapors/The Jam/The Chords sound with an updated w/ a bit of Ned's Atomic Dustbin/Jesus Jones vibe.  Classic!! "Good Times", Track 2, is even more so!  Again, The Vapors comes to mind, but it rocks a bit harder than that band with a thumping, driving bass line that rips it up.  Track 3?  Well, read below for info on that!

"USA power popsters, The Eddies return to the fray with a three-track release that in the days of vinyl was called a maxi-single.  Debbie Jones is a stomping psyche flavoured gem, a new slant on the Squire(early 80's mod-pop) song.  Wave after wave of guitar leads into a cool update of The Risk's "Good Times, charged up power pop at its best.  The Jetset's "Color My World" get a raveup on Track 3.  A trio of revival tracks brought into the 21st century with class and panache. " -ScooteringMag.   Really wonderful stuff that leaves us wanting more, no doubt!  Listen and enjoy!

-www.notlame.com - October 2006

 

The Eddies "In The Sunshine"
It's a Saturday night and you need something to play loud, something that captures the spirit of youth, something equal parts melody and energy.  Something Like the Eddies.  The trios debut, "In The Sunshine," is an album that takes a few listens to approach, but is an ultimately rewarding disc, with it's share of pop gems. It's hard to pinpoint the exact influences.   At times the groups lush dense sound sounds a bit like the Beatles crossed with the Velvet Underground at it's poppiest, hanging with the Jam.  Even that description doesn't really do the album justice.  "Find My Way Back Home" sounds like it would've been a Rodney on The ROQ fave circa 1981 - and that's a good thing.  Meanwhile "So In Love" is everything one could hope for in a quirky, offbeat mid tempo ballad.  The sound of the album, produced by the legendary Earl Mankey (who also contributes keys on a few tracks), and with a cameo from Mike Nolte of The Last, has a decidedly DIY flavor to it.  Not every song works, but at it's best "In the Sunshine" ably captures a teenage spirit not heard since powerpop's late seventies heyday.

San Diego Union Tribune May 2004

San Diego City Beat
Together for old time's sake
by Ken Smith and Scoop Stevens
Read this Review
I've now listened to the album about 6 times and can't put it away!!!!
There's a phrase in the UK which says something is "the dogs bollocks" (where "bollocks" are "balls") and this album is it!!!  It's unique, totally, and I love it.  Mankey is a genius and I think he's brought out all the indiosyncracies that the songs contain.  I really can't stop listening to it....WOW!!!!

Whatever happens, keep at it and keep writing/recording.

Andy
YEH YEH

THE EDDIES – In The Sunshine CD (FAB NEW 12 TRACK RELEASE ON THE “TWIST” LABEL FROM THIS U.S. TRIO.  THINK “TIMES”, “JETSET”, & “SQUIRE”, WACK IT IN A BLENDER AND OUT COMES THE EDDIES)

-Detour Records June 2004.

THE EDDIES – In The Sunshine CD  Great debut from The Eddies on Twist Records (Twist US1) Garage fuzz from America the first on Twist US a very uncomplicated debut which goes along nicely.  Deep guitars, throbbin’ bass and hefty drums from Dale and Dean Hoth with expert drummings from Cris Cordero, Track one is the flashy "All alone" maybe some punk riffs in there with obvious 60s beat.  Track 2 is "Sometime" a great fuzz garage beat great harmonies on this track a very solid sound.  Track 3 "In Tears Again" a somewhat more poppy approach for this song maybe there attempt at a love song and it comes across as a solid tune.  Track 4 "Life Could Be So Good" another 60’s inspired tune.  Track 5 "Thinking Of This Girl" another deepy garage song with glammy riffs a powerful strong and one of my faves.  Track 6 "Queen of Hearts" a faster song with obvious Beach Boys fillings and even a magical touch of keyboards my fave on the album.  Track 7 " So In Love" Moody psychie song with tints of the late 60s with even some classy blues guitar.  Track 8 "Girl With The Golden Hair" another of my album faves poppy , indie ditty with trends of powerpop a great song.  Track 9 "Find My Way Back Home" pure moody garage Track 10 "What Is Love" this is the Eddies in swoony magical lovey mood a classic song. Track 11 "Jungle Beat" a Bart Mendoza song which should speak for itself and the Eddies rip it up and spit it out nearly my fave on the album.  Track 12 "Every Time" slow end to a fine album a song which shows off the ability of The Eddies.  I really enjoyed this album from start to finish every track is winner I didn’t know what to expect to be fair when dean sent me this but knowing it was on Twist and knowing Mark Le Gallez and his labels judgment on bands I knew I would not be disappointed and I wasn’t.  The Eddies will grow and grow into a fine band.  Give this album a chance you won’t regret it.  8/10

-Steve Emmerson Gents website

Hey, thanks for the tshirt and cd.  I put it on as soon as I got it and was smiling and digging what you guys are creating. You got some really cool vibe going there.  I could hear some Earle Mankey magic in the sound and a little 20/20 influence maybe too.  Cool songs and production.

Great job, I'll be listening more but I want you to know I dig the whole thing.  Best of luck with getting it out there on the planet.  I'll put the Eddies in my car and cruise around.

Steve Allen – 20/20

Dean,

Thanks for sending the CD (& t shirt!!).
I received them a couple of weeks ago.  I love the CD!.  The sound is quite 'heavy' and really goes well with the 'fragile' voice and harmonies.  Nice songs.

Thanks,

Anthony Meynell (Squire/Sugarplum)
 

The Eddies - In The Sunshine
Excellent power pop rock for fans of Weezer, Shambles, The Cars, B52s, and more.  The California band makes music "In the Sunshine" with a bare bone sound that is neither slick nor over-produced.  Recommended to fans of straight forward honest to goodness power pop. Featuring: Guitars, Bass, and Drums!!!  That's the real deal.

JAM RECORDS – December 2004

The Eddies - In The Sunshine
The Eddies are brothers Dale and Dean Hoth (Guitar and Bass) along with Cris Cordero (Drums). Produced by Earle Mankey and musically it featuresMike Nolte(The Last) and Mankey himself helping out, along with a cover of a song from Bart Mendoza(The Shambles) so you know the good taste quotient is going to be present. And Music bears that out......but it's hard to pin down who they sound like (okay, how about a garagey version The Cars playing The Jam with a deconstructionist art-pop leaning?  Ja? No? Sure!) as it's quite evident this is a band of serious music fans that know how to fuse together their inspirations and just have a good time writing and performing---and from that, is a spirit infectious.

Not Lame Recording Company – December 2004
 

Hey Guys!

Thanks for the new CD! I was really impressed with it!  Earle's production is top-notch (you can tell him "hi" for me) and your songwriting and performance skills seemed to have really progressed.  Well done. The first track had overtones of T.Rex and I heard elements of 20/20 in there as well.  I hope you guys have great success with it and continue in the pursuit of your dreams!  Keep me posted on your progress and once again, well done and good luck with it!

Cheers,

Jeff Murphy
Shoes

The Eddies - In The Sunshine - UK/2004/Twist Records

Produced by the legendary Earle Mankey, this trio’s quirky debut wears it 60’s/70’s influences – Glam, The Troggs, B-52’s, Garage Space Rock and more - proudly on its sleeves!  Mods will definitely dig it!

Kool Kat Musik, January 2005

The Eddies - In The Sunshine - UK/2004/Twist Records

Considering a couple of facts, like the ones that The Eddies are scheduled for both The Manual Scan/Shambles and Squire forthcoming tribute albums, as well as the one that the album is being released on the Twist label, my expectation were set high right from the start.

When I first got hold of the CD, the first thing I notice are three rather ordinary looking guys, sporting a so called no-image, instead of an expected sixties inspired mod/paisley regalia, which made me a bit suspicious, to say the least.

The next thing I’m hearing is a kind of a lo-fi-Weezer sounding opener All Alone, with the fragile-falsettos-against-the-noisy-wall-of-guitars‘n’all, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but not what I was hoping for.

Anyway, as I went along the rest of the album, I got even more confused, with some of the stuff making me jump-for-joy, and some begging for another listen out of a sheer need for clarification, with both impressions often being present in a single song!?

Well, after some five or six listens, things get much clearer, and the most important thing to be realized about this album is, that it is what they call “a grower”, and if you listen to it without any prejudice, unlike I did, you’ll have a great time.

Once again, they return to the above mentioned lo-fi-Weezer formula in Thinking Of This Girl, Sometime features the early Who-ish pop artistry and Life Could Be So Good is a quirky little Brit-sounding popsike tune.

Queen Of Hearts and Girl With The Golden Hair both mix equal parts of mid’60s garage punk and ‘70s power-pop, especially the latter, which is somewhere between the ‘King Greg Prevost’s snarl and some more sophisticated melodicism.

The closing Every Time could be what you get after putting Arthur Alexander’s You Better Move On through the Velvety “sunday morning” feel, and what might be the album’s highlight, is the pair of In Tears (Again) and So In Love, sounding like The-Zombies-by-way-of-Dinosaur Jr.

It might be of some worth to note that the album is produced by the legendary Earle Mankey, who along with The Last’s Mike Nolte, also provides some cool keyboards on several tunes.

GORAN OBRADOVIC
/POPISM Radio Show: Serbia & Montenegro

March 2005
 

"It's sunny power-pop psych in the spirit of paisley underground mainstays like the three o'clock."

- Capitol Records' Jason Roth

July 2005